National Science Day 2020 in department of Statistics on 20-02-2020

Event Date : 20/02/2020


Report on the event conducted on National Science Day 2020

                On the occasion of “National Science Day 2020” the department of Statistics is celebrated the science day on 20-02-2020 under the guidance of the principal Dr. C. Krishna and Dr. K.Jyothi, convener of science association. 36 students are participated and exhibited various project models. Teachers and Students of various schools are visited our department and captured the exhibits. All the faculty members of Mathematics & Statistics are involved in the event.

            Prizes are distributed to the winners in the evening of the day by the Chief guest Prof. G. Bhagavannarayana, former director, RGUKT-IIIT, RK Valley and former Chief scientist at CSIR-NPL and Guest of honour Dr. P.V. Ramani, Principal(Rtd),SKR College for women, RJY.

Theme of the day: “Women in Science”

Outcomes of the event:

  1. Encourage the students towards Science and Technology.

  2. Bring awareness on latest development in science.

  3. Give an opportunity to the students to showcase their scientific interests

 Winners :

  1. First year:

            1st  place : “ Analysis of COVID-2019”

                              K. Prapoorna, I BSc MSCs

                              K. Anusha, I BSc MSCs

                              Ch. Ramya, I BSc MSCs

                              L.Haritha, I BSc MSCs

                              D.Sujana , I BSc MSCs

            2nd place :   “Chi-square test-Goodness of fit”

                               B.N.R.S.S. Sujatha, I BSc MSAs

                                N.Ganga Bhavani, I BSc MSAs

                                B.Sai Jeevitha, I BSc MSAs


2.  Second Year: “Women in Science-A Statistical Analysis”

            1st  place : D. Ashwini, II BSc MSCs

                              D. Veeramani, II BSc MSCs

                              P.B.L. Sowjanya, II BSc MSCs

                              P.Padma, II BSc MSCs

                              S.Sunitha , II BSc MSCs

   3. Consolation prize: “Probability”

                             P.N. Maheswari, I BSc MSAs

                             K.L. Saranya, I BSc MSAs


event_407_2.jpg   event_407_3.jpg