About Department

About the Department

About the Department

About the Department:

Chemistry department is one of the oldest of Pithapuram Rajah’s College. It was established in the year 1952. At present, the department is offering 10 group combinations in UG, one community college course (Analytical techniques in Pharmaceuticals) and one certificate course under career orientation programme (Environment Audit). The department also offers self-finance post-graduation programmes in chemistry M. Sc (organic chemistry & analytical chemistry). The department introduced Mathematics, Physics and petrochemicals group in 1998-99. The department has adequate and competent faculty to run the courses effectively. The competency of the faculty is also significant in the area of research with completed Minor research projects and ongoing Major research project. Departmental stalwarts like Sri Jampa Veerabhadra Rao (late), Sri J.S.R.Sarma, and Sri C. Rama Rao were only a few renowned teachers who worked here.

An illustrious Alumnus Late Dr. Y.V.S.S.Murty, D.Sc. (USA) and former MD, Alkali Metals Ltd., Hyderabad donated Rs. 10 Lakhs towards the construction of additional class rooms and renovation of old Heritage building. Dr. Rallapalli Krishna of USA donated costly equipment AAS (Atomic Absorption Spectrometer) worth Rs. 4.80 Lakhs to the department for the development of research.

The department responded to the call of UN to observe 2011 as International year of Chemistry to generate enthusiasm for the creative future of chemistry and increase interest among young people. The department carried out as many as 16 activities with the financial assistance of Rs. 1, 00,000 provided by UGC.

Two faculty members of the department visited abroad. E.V.S.Subrahmanyam, Nodal officer of community college programme visited NSW, Sydney and Queensland states of Australia in February, 2017 to study the vocational education in Australia under vocational education leadership programme (VELT) jointly organized by Government of India and Government of Australia. Dr. M. M. Pacha was invited to deliver a paper presentation on environment issues at Belgium in 2014.

The proposal submitted by the department to introduce community college course “Analytical Techniques in Pharmaceuticals” was accepted by UGC. An amount of Rs. 71.6 Lakhs was sanctioned to organize the course which is aimed at developing employable skills to suit the industry needs.

The department has been identified as Research Centre by the affiliating University. Dr. M. M. Pacha and Dr. P. V. S. Machiraju are the recognized research supervisors by Adikavi Nannaya University and JNTU-K, Kakinada respectively. They were also recipients of Best Teacher awards of Government of Andhra Pradesh.

The department of chemistry extensive support to the college in the year 2017-18 and the chairman of NAAC visited to chemistry department, his comment " Chemistry department is very good and highly potential in all activities" , The PRGC(A) has accrediated as A grade by NAAC team under the HOD of chemistry department Sri T Vara Prasad and other lecturers. Sri T Vara Prasad HOD chemistry department was recipient of AP Best Teacher Award in Chemistry on 05.09.2019 from Honourable CM  of AP  Sri N Chandra Babu Naidu for the year 2018.

The department maintains linkages with Industries and research laboratories to expose the students to higher levels of knowledge and application of chemistry. The new course  BSc (MCAC) (Mathematics, Chemistry and Analytical chemistry) was introduced by the Department of Chemistry in the year 2018-19.

Objectives of the department:

  1. To impart practical skills to students for gaining employment in industries
  2. To promote linkages with industries so as to give hands on training to students
  3. To motivate the students towards research in different fields of chemistry

Following is the succession list of the Heads of the department who worked hard for the



S. No.

Name of the HOD


M.B.Mohan Rao






A.Rama Krishna


Dr. K.Raghavachari


C.Bhaskara Sastry




U.Murali Krishna


Dr. M.M.Pacha




T.Vara Prasad


development of the department.


S. No.

Name of the HOD


J. Veerabhadra Rao


N. Srimannarayana


C. Rama Rao






C. Somayajulu


P. Ramamohan Rao


Dr. K. Krishna Kumar


Dr. I. Srinivasan


T. Satyanarayana


Dr. K.N.Viswanadham

12 E VS Subhramanyam
13 T Vara Prasad